What are Agro-Climatic Regions of India?

 Geographers use the term "area" to refer to any particular portion of Earth's surface. It may be as small as a park or a neighborhood, or as large as a continent or an ocean. Metropolitan areas, for example, help define the borders of large population centers for a census and other official purposes. The metropolitan area of Delhi, Mumbai are urban geographic areas.  Area is also an exact measure of the size of a surface with specific boundaries.

The geographical area of India is divided into 15 agro-climatic regions. These are further divided into more homogeneous 72 sub-zones. The 15 agro-climatic zones are:

  • Zone 1 – Western Himalayan Region: Jammu and Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh
  • Zone 2 – Eastern Himalayan Region: Assam, Sikkim, West Bengal and all North-Eastern states
  • Zone 3 – Lower Gangetic Plains Region: West Bengal
  • Zone 4 – Middle Gangetic Plains Region: Uttar Pradesh, Bihar
  • Zone 5 – Upper Gangetic Plains Region: Uttar Pradesh
  • Zone 6 – Trans-Gangetic Plains Region: Punjab, Haryana, Delhi and Rajasthan
  • Zone 7 – Eastern Plateau and Hills Region: Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Orissa and West Bengal
  • Zone 8 – Central Plateau and Hills Region: MP, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh
  • Zone 9 – Western Plateau and Hills Region: Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan
  • Zone 10 – Southern Plateau and Hills Region: Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
  • Zone 11 – East Coast Plains and Hills Region: Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry
  • Zone 12 – West Coast Plains and Ghat Region: Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Goa, Karnataka, Maharashtra
  • Zone 13 – Gujarat Plains and Hills Region: Gujarat
  • Zone 14 – Western Dry Region: Rajasthan
  • Zone 15 – The Islands Region: Andaman and Nicobar, Lakshadweep
Geographic AreasExamples
Tropical RainforestAssam and parts of the Sahyadri Mountain Range
Tropical SavannahSahyadri Mountain Range and parts of Maharashtra
Tropical and subtropical steppeParts of Punjab and Gujarat
Tropical DesertMost parts of Rajasthan
Moist subtropical with winterParts of Punjab, Assam, and Rajasthan
Mountain climateParts of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, and Uttaranchal
DroughtRajasthan, Gujarat, and Haryana
Tropical semi-arid steppeTamil Nadu, Maharashtra, and other parts of South India

Post a Comment