Digitization of Legislatures through National e-Vidhan Application (NeVA)

 National e-Vidhan Application (NeVA) is an end-to-end cloud based digital solution for bringing all the 39 Legislatures (Lok Sabha + Rajya Sabha + 31 Assemblies + 6 Councils) across the country including the 2 Houses of the Parliament on a single platform. It has been developed on the theme of ‘One Nation- One Application’. The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs (MoPA) has been entrusted with the responsibility of rolling out NeVA in all the Legislatures across the country.

The NeVA Application has been developed to cater various stakeholders like Members, Ministers, House Secretariat personnel, Govt. Department personnel and Citizens at large. Developed as a member centric application, it enables them to handle diverse House Business smartly by putting entire information needed by them in their hand-held devices/ tablets. It also helps the Ministers to have access to all the House Information like Question Replies, Bills, other Papers laid, etc. It equips all the Branches of Legislatures/ Department to handle it efficiently and creating an efficient inclusive database thereby overhauling the way our legislatures work with facilities for Live webcasting. Moreover, NeVA not only aims to bring democracy closer to our citizens by giving the citizens access to the bills, the questions and answers, the documents tabled in the Houses in an easy manner, but also to empower them by providing an opportunity to the citizens for meaningful engagement with the democracy which can be achieved through e-Constituency Management Module and Grievance Module.

Operationalization of this electronic platform would account for huge savings on papers (App. 340 Cr annually), thereby leading to reduction of carbon footprints and moving a step forward in the achievement of UN’s SDGs (15)- ‘Life on Earth’.

The President and Prime Minister had also urged the Presiding Officers for digitalization of all the Legislative Houses in the country by adopting the NeVA to reap the benefits of the Digital Legislatures in the present scenario.

The MoPA has recently developed the new module ‘Digital Archive’ for management of the legacy data of respective House for the benefit of Members and citizen equally. The Reporter’s module has also been re-developed. Digital House module, Question processing module, committee module, member’s module, master content management module, user management module, etc. have also been upgraded as per the requirements of various Legislatures. The NeVA website has also been updated with various new features and latest designs.

As far as the current status of implementation of NeVA is concerned, a total of 21 Legislatures (19 States) viz. Punjab, Odisha, Bihar {both Houses}, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Gujarat, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Puducherry, Tripura, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Tamil Nadu, Sikkim, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh{both Houses} Jharkhand ,Jammu & Kashmir have signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with MoPA, out of which 17 legislatures (15 States) viz. Punjab, Odisha, Bihar (Both Houses) Nagaland, Manipur, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Meghalaya, Haryana, Tripura Uttar Pradesh (Both Houses), Mizoram, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Puducherry have been sanctioned the project along with the release of required funds. At present, 8 Legislatures, viz. Bihar Council, Nagaland Assembly, Uttar Pradesh Assembly, Haryana Assembly, Mizoram Assembly, Meghalaya Assembly, Uttar Pradesh Council and Tamil Nadu have already been transformed into Digital House through NeVA. Other Houses are also on the path of becoming paperless shortly.

Post a Comment