1st war of independence


The 1st war of Independence 

The year 1857 is very significant in the history of India's freedom struggle. It witnessed a revolt which the British historians have dubbed the Sepoy Mutiny and the Indian historians the First war of Independence. The troubles first broke out in Berhampore of Bengal on February 26 in 19th Bengal infantry. The first shot was fired by Mangal Pandey of the 34th Bengal infantry at Barrackpore of Bengal. He was hanged at Barrackpore on April 8th.

Mutiny started on May 10th at Meerut, followed in Delhi on May 11th. The revolt began as a mutiny of Indian soldiers against British commanders. The military and political coalesced in the revolt of 1857. The Indian soldiers having massacred British personnel in Meerut, marched to Delhi and proclaimed Mughal Emperor Bahadur Shah II as the Emperor of India. Bahadur Shah issued proclamation urging people of India “ to end the tyranny and the oppression of the infidel and treacherous English.” The British recaptured Delhi from the mutineers on September 20. Bahadur Shah surrendered to Lt. W.S.R. Hodson on September 21 at Humayun’s Tomb in Delhi. Queen Victoria was proclaimed the Empress of India.

Post a Comment