List of Schedules of Indian Constitution


Schedules of Indian Constitution - 12 Schedules of India

There are 12 Schedules in the Constitution of India. One of the first mentions of Schedules was made in the Government of India Act, 1935 where it included 10 Schedules. Later, when the Indian Constitution was adopted in 1949, it consisted of 8 Schedules. Today, with the amendments in the Indian Constitution, there are a total of 12 Schedules.

This article will provide you with a list of Schedules of Indian Constitution, important for the IAS Exam from the perspective of Indian Polity (Mains GS-II).

List of Schedules of Indian Constitution

The table given below discusses the list of schedules of the Indian Constitution, important from the UPSC exam perspective:

Schedules in Indian Constitution
SchedulesFeatures of Schedules
First Schedule of Indian ConstitutionIt contains the name of States and Union Territories

Territorial Jurisdiction of states is also included

Second Schedule of Indian ConstitutionThe provisions in relation to allowances, privileges, emoluments of:

  • President of India
  • Governors of Indian States
  • Speaker of Lok Sabha & Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha
  • Chairman of Rajya Sabha & Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha
  • Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assemblies of Indian States
  • Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Legislative Councils of the Indian States
  • Supreme Court Judges
  • High Court Judges
  • Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG)
Third ScheduleIt contains the forms of oath and affirmation for:

  • Union Ministers of India
  • Parliament Election Candidates
  • Members of Parliament (MPs)
  • Supreme Court Judges
  • Comptroller and Auditor General
  • State Ministers
  • State Legislature Elections’ Candidates
  • State Legislature Members
  • High Court Judges
Fourth ScheduleIt contains the provisions in relation to the allocation of seats for States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha
Fifth ScheduleIt contains provisions in relation to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes
Sixth ScheduleIt contains provisions in relation to the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram
Seventh ScheduleThis schedule deals with the three legislative lists:

  • Union
  • State
  • Concurrent
Eighth ScheduleIt deals with the 22 official languages recognized by the Constitution of India:

  • Assamese
  • Bengali
  • Bodo
  • Dogri (Dongri)
  • Gujarati
  • Hindi
  • Kannada
  • Kashmiri
  • Konkani
  • Mathili (Maithili)
  • Malayalam
  • Manipuri
  • Marathi
  • Nepali
  • Oriya
  • Punjabi
  • Sanskrit
  • Santhali
  • Sindhi
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Urdu
Ninth ScheduleIt deals with the state acts and regulations of that deal with land reforms and

abolition of the zamindari system. It also deals with the acts and regulations of the Parliament dealing with other matters.


1st Amendment Act 1951 added the Ninth Schedule to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of fundamental rights.

However, in 2007, the Supreme Court ruled that the laws included in this schedule after

April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review

Tenth ScheduleIt contains provisions relating to disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of



This schedule was added by the 52nd Amendment Act of 1985, also known as Anti-defection Law

Eleventh ScheduleIt contains the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats. It has 29 matters.


This schedule was added

by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992

Twelfth ScheduleIt deals with the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities. It has 18 matters.


This schedule was added

by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992

Since Schedules of Indian Constitution makes an important topic of the Indian Polity subject of UPSC syllabus 2022; aspirants should keep these schedules in mind. 

Post a Comment