The 1999
 - one of the greatest war in the Indian history -

"Our flag does not fly because the wind moves it. it flies with the last breath of every fallen soldiers who protected it"

It's been 22 years since the Indian army recaptured back all the Indian army posts in Kargil that was once occupied by the Pakistan's army. Finally on 26th July 1999,we won this war and since then every year on this day we pay tribute to our hero's who sacrificed life saving protecting our motherland. 

Through this article let us understand in depth the story behind this 1999 war. 
This war continued from May to July 1999 for a period of 84 days in the Kashmiri's Kargil district.
The Pakistani's soldiers and terrorists occupied the Indian territories and positioned themselves strategically in key position such that it would be advantage for the opponents to start the war.

The shepherds from the nearby locality informed Indian army about suspicious activity and they were able to decode this activity and launched "OPERATION VIJAY"
Initially the Pakistani government refused any role in this conflict and termed that this conflict was with Kashmiri freedom fighters. But later awarded medals to its soldiers who were part of the conflict.

The Pakistani troops had positioned themselves at higher altitude which proved to be advantage as it could fire down the Indian army during fight.

Finally the Pakistani troops withdrew their armed forces at few places while the Indian army attacked the rest of outposts and finally managed to get back their territory by 26th July 1999.

According to the report, a total of 527 official death toll was reported on Indian side. On other hand in Pakistan's side it was between 357 to 453.

The mission was considered successful on 26th july,1999 by Indian military and thereafter every year it is celebrated annually as Kargil Vijay Diwas.

  • PARAM VIR CHAKRA awarded to:
  1. Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav, 18 Grenadiers
  2. Lieutenant Manoj Singh Kumar Pandey, 1/11 Gorkha Rifles
  3. Captain Vikram Bhatra,13 JAK Rifles
  4. Rifleman Sanjay Kumar,13 JAK Rifles

  • MAHA VIR CHAKRA awarded to:
  1. Lieutenant Balwan Singh,18 Grenadiers 
  2. Major Rajesh Singh Adhikari,Posthumous,18 Grenadiers 
  3. Major Vivek Gupta, Posthumous,2 Rajputana Rifles 
  4. Captain N Kenguruse, Posthumous,ASC, 2 RAJ RIF
  5. Major Sonam Wangchuk, Ladakh Scounts
  6. Naik Digendra Kumar,2 RAJ RIF
  7. Captain Anuj Nayyar, 17 Jat Regiment, Posthumous
  8. Lieutenant Keishing C Nongrum, 12 JAK Light Infantry
  9. Major Padmapani Acharya, 2 Rajputana Rifles, Posthumous 

The inspiring stories of of the war heroes taught us selflessness and courage. On this Kargil Vijay Diwas lets take a moment to appreciate the sacrifices of our soldiers who guarded us while we were sleeping safe and sound. The Kargil heroes will always be remembered. 


Post a Comment